DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ive never done this before but I have an idea of how to. I am a pretty good welder and I just want to do this and want to have some opinions before I do and will i be able to remove axles for when I put an actual posi unit in its place. thanks

·
Registered
1,231 Posts
yes because all you are doing is welding the gears in the carrier. i would reconsider this if you decide to drive on the road though. just wait for the locker unless this is a mud truck.

·
Aka Force Fed Mopar
6,120 Posts
Do not weld the spider gears up unless it is a straight up off road truck. You will hate it on the road. I agree w/ Diver, just wait for the posi. If you're impatient, save money faster :)

·
440 and a 4 speed
976 Posts
I would agree with the above statements if it's a road truck...

we welded the spider gears on a 280Z Datsun for the "poor man posi" and I did drive on the street. We got away with it due to the relatively short width of the car - but it definitely was not fun to turn.

But welding the gears will not hamper the removal of the axles (unless you get too happy with the welding!!!!).

·
Registered
109 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
How would it handle in the corners in the road? lol

·
Registered
3,449 Posts
It wouldn't want turn very good. Push the front end straight on slick curves.:gr_patrio

·
440 and a 4 speed
976 Posts
How would it handle in the corners in the road? lol

depends...if you got up on the tires...it'll drive like a loose nascar ride...but if you go slow - very very very hard to turn

·
Mopar Madness - Get it...
4,032 Posts
Casey, in order to understand why what you want to do, is not a very good thing, you've got to understand a little about differentials and steering geometry.
When you're going around a turn, the wheels are turning at different speeds.