DodgeTalk Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I guess I should introduce myself. I was a member here years ago when I first had the 94 Ram !500 and the 90 Plymouth Grand Voyager. I've been running the van for about 10 years now and it's been a good beast. Very few need repairs. The usual wear items, Struts Ball joints Tie Rod ends , wheel bearings Axles.
My 1990 Plymouth Grand Voyager finally gave up. The inner CV joint on the drivers side blew up. I got it home and the part of the axle that goes in the transaxle won't come out. T ried every thing I thought might work. I even pulled the Passenge side and made long punch to try to drive the drivers side out from the other side. All I did was bend the punch around the differential center pin. I guess I'll have to drop the tranaxle out of it to fix it.
I bought a 1997 Dodge Dakota as a replacement. while I decide on the van.
The factory radio only plays poor am. The cassette won't take a cassette.
I once upon a time had a 1994 Ram 1500. I swapped out the radio in that for a Pioneer that played CD's. When I sold the Ram I kept the Pioneer.
I pulled the Pioneer out of storage and it was all wired as a plug and play in the Ram so I thought it should be the same in the Dakota. No luck. It comes on and Seeks and locks onto stations but no sound comes out the speakers.
I thought crap this things dead.
The old van has a Kenwood in it, so I pulled it out. and tried it in the Dakota, Again it seeks and locks onto stations but no sound.
This seemed strange to me so I tried the Dakota radio in the van and it played the same as in the Dakota. Poor AM.
I plugged in the Pioneer It played just fine, Tried the Kenwood, Played fine.
I looked at wiring diagrams for both the Dakota and the Van and the radio is wired the same in both. I just can't seem to understand why all three play in the van but only the stock radio plays in the truck.
Any Ideas on that anyone?