DodgeTalk Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I am new to the forms, but I am Warlock's Dad's Son so the Truck has been on here a few times. We recently ditched the junked and blown 318 that came with the truck and built a new 360 with a junkyard 360 Magnum block out of a 250k mile Ram. This was supposed to be a budget build but quickly moved a little out of that land. Today as it sits it has been bored .030 over, EQ CH318B Heads with the LA intake bolt pattern, a bigger Cam w/ mechanical pump, Speed-Pro flat top VR pistons, Edelbrock Air Gap intake, and a 600CFM Edelbrock carb. Napkin math says it should have about 11.25 compression but I must say i didnt measure deck height before putting it back together so I assume it is close to stock.

We built this motor back in 2019 and have never really gotten it running right. its at the most stable point its ever been now and still is a basket case. the current issue is we cant seem to get it timed right. I dont know where the issue is but from crawling around i think we are drawing too much vacuum. i have gone around spraying carb cleaner and dont seem to have any vacuum leaks, steady 6 PSI fuel, good spark. i can get the initial idle and timing to around 15 BTDC,1200 RPM, and am pulling somewhere between 25 and 30 vac. when i connect the advance to either upper or lower vacuum ports on the carb the motor revs to full advance timing lights shows 40 degrees with the vac still in the high 20s low 30s.

I have run out of ideas as to what is going on and am realllllllly trying not to cave and have a shop take a look. Any help at all would be wonderful!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Maybe your intake or carb has a crack? Just tossing ideas.... we had one we couldn't get stable and it wound up being the carb had developed a crack sometime or another ....

·
Registered
62 Posts