Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I'm a "newbi" to this sight. Looks like a lot of good info so from what i've seen so far. Just had a Flowmaster CAT BACK exhaust system installed on my '04 Dodge Durango with the 5.7 hemi. The system has 3 inch mandrel bent pipes running through a Flowmaster Series 50 muffler. I did not expect the noise level and vibration to be soooo loud! My wife absolutely "HATES" it! How do i go about toning down the sound and vibration of this beast?

P.S.: I've noticed a distinct "thud" sound coming from the rear whenever i go over a bump in the road. Only noticed since the install. Not sure, but sounds like the rear suspension may be hitting the muffler pipe. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
410 Posts
Welcome Marz!

I have a Flowmaster Cat Back Exhaust also but I have a 70 series muffler. As far as toning the sound down you may have to switch mufflers to get a more mellow sound.

That thud you are hearing in the rear is probably your exhaust hitting the watts (sp) linkage on the rear end. When I installed mine it was a very close fit. Look under your D from the rear and see if the exhaust pipe or pipes coming over the rear axle are close to the bar attached to the differential cover. When you go over a bump that bar moves up and down and it may be hitting the exhaust. You may have to loosen the clamps and move the exhaust around so it doesn't hit.

Once you get the muffler you want, I suggest you take your D to an exhaust shop and have the system welded up. This will prevent any exhaust leaks and any movement in the system. Good luck!

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the welcome HemiEd! How much drone are you getting with the 70 series? Is it hard to hear the stereo inside? What would be the pro's & con's of installing a Flowmaster resonator to quiet down the existing system?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Cat-back