DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a rockford 300/2 two channel amp. I have it bridges and running a single svc MTX 5500. Which i just blew. Im looking to get a JL W3. But do i want svc(single voice coil) or dvc (dual voice coil) and do i want it 2 ohm or 4 ohm? Sorry im not good with electronics,

·
The Walt-n-ator
2,491 Posts
It kinda depends on what you want to do with the sub. In my opinion, a dual voice coil (DVC) is better because you have more flexibility with wiring for the desired ohm load. For example, if you have a 4-ohm DVC, you can wire that sub for 2-ohms (less resistance) without parallel-wiring two subs together, or simply wire it in series for the standard 4-ohm load. There are several more variations involving different wiring styles and adding multiple subs wired together, but this is a common one. Basically, a DVC sub is very adaptable to virtually all situations. The point-the lower the ohms, the less resistance you present the amp=more power drawn from your amp. Just make sure that your amp can handle the ohm load; most amps aren't 1-ohm stable, but most are 2-ohm stable in normal mode, and 4-ohm stable in bridged mode. I have included a link to Crutchfield on sub wiring basics; there is also a tone of other info for you to up your electronics knowledge before you purchase anything. Hope this helps; good luck! Link below...
Crutchfield Advisor Click on the tab, "Learning center: Car Audio & Video," in the upper right-hand corner. This takes you to a section where you can click on multiple electronics for additional info and advice.

·
Registered
209 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So if i am only running one sub i want the dvc 4 ohm?

·
The Walt-n-ator
2,491 Posts