DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Daytona #8457
778 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
and I noticed that they have this cool little Detroit Diesel meter on there that shows their idle time and their MPG... I though I had it bad one day with 9.4 mpg... this thing is getting an average of 3.6 mpg. and that isn't just one bus. most of the buses I have ridden are about the same. Just got me thinking what yalls worst and best gas mileage was?

~Dodge Guy~

· Registered
282 Posts
I drive a school bus for a living. For the 59 miles I drive my route each day, it's about 12 gallons per day.(It's a total of 104 stops for the day between 2 runs am&pm). I have a 66 gallon tank in the bus. So I get roughly 5 mpg. A bit less during the winter when super cold-they get started for us by 5:30 if the temp dips below 15º. So they run about a hour before we hit the roads to get them heated(and to make sure they can start).

Nell

· All Around Great Guy
12,739 Posts
I am averagine about 8.9mpg in 98 percent city driving beating on it... My concrete mixer gets about 1.9 to 2.3 mpg

· Undercover ninja
289 Posts
I get about 16 mpg with moderate driving. The best I've ever gotten was 21.6 mpg on a 120 mile trip. Worst I've ever gotten was about 9 mpg for about 75 miles, when I was running it hard from every stoplight just to see how bad it would get.

· Registered
641 Posts
The truck I work on (Pumper Ladder 10) gets about 3 mpg.

· Registered
781 Posts
i get 11-12 when i tow my boat but on long freeway trips i get 18 + thanks to MDS

· Sysco
259 Posts
As an average I get about 12mpg when I had the travel trailer it was 7mpg towing it, My work truck single drive axle international 8600 with a 35' or 28' reefer, 10-20 stops per day and idle time I get about 6mpg.

JP

· Registered
576 Posts
I got 30+ going downhill with tail wind :D

I really average 13-14 mix city/highway

· Registered
378 Posts