DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok i just bought my durango today, 98 4x4, 5.2 with 98k miles.

i drove the car twice before i bought it and everything is fine other than the rear speed sensor. i drove it on the freeway and when i got to a light i hear a really quiet knocking coming from under the hood, the only time you can hear it is at idle, the truck runs great but it has a little knock at idle and i revved it a little bit but cant hear it when i start to rev it.

i searched and the only answer i could find was something about a purge solenoid, im a newbie with these trucks, so any info would be appreciated.

thanks

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
well i took it for another ride, it doesnt make any noise untill you drive it for a little bit then come to a stop. i went and filled the tank up and i started it and it went away untill i drove for a minute.

when i got home i popped the hood while it is running and you cant hear it from the outside, if you crawl under the car you can faintly hear it, but its more noticeable in the car, and im confused on what it could be

·
Registered
533 Posts
It's the Evap canister purge solenoid, located on the fire wall. It makes a noise that travels through the firewall and that's what you here. Drive until you hear the noise, then disconnect it and the noise will go away. There's a Tsb about it, I just relocated mine by putting it on the engine. Just fabricate a bracket to hold it and your good to go.

Attachments

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
if thats it, how come i can hear it slightly from underneath the car but not on the top where it is located, i hope you are right though because i only had this damn thing for a day and i dont want anything seriously wrong with it, well at least yet, lol.

·
Registered
533 Posts
Did you try my suggestion?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·