DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
199 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking into getting a 10" sub, truck box, and amp for my reg cab 3rd gen ram. I want it to hit decent, but want to spend under 300 for EVERYTHING. I can get a box for 50 dollars shipped, but am having trouble picking an amp and a sub.

What should i be looking for in regards to wattage, power, ohms, voice coils etc. I listen to a lot of R&B and rap, so im looking for something that will hit cleanly.

I'm thinking about getting one of those small MTX amps, but i dont have a clue when it comes to bridging etc. Can someone help me out?

Also, i have a stock head unit as of right now (base system, nothing special). Can anyone tell me how hard it would be to install it myself? I have an amp wiring kit from my last project that i never used.

THanks

·
Registered
108 Posts
i'm no audio expert but i'll tell you what i did with my truck. i have a 45 dollar fiberboard box,jl audio svc 10 inch 4 ohm sub 100 bucks, run off of 2 channels of my eclipse amp for about 140 rms. it's decent at best compared to most i heard but it's a start. i don't know how to wire at all let alone into a stock head unit. i have heard a few trucks with 250 - 300 rms 10 - 12 inch sub and i think those hit pretty good but still sound good. i'm more concerned with sound quality myself. alot of guys here will tell you to get a head unit first and they are right. i just put in a new eclipse head unit with the 5volt preouts compared to 2.2 with my old pioneer. the bass is now cleaner and a little stronger just with a new head unit.

hope this helps
bubba

·
Registered
3,243 Posts
Damn Bubba I wish I woulda noticed ya was in Omaha Neb before April 23rd........................