Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 66 Posts

·
Banned
302 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Please can someone help with this.

I have a Magnum RT with 18" stock wheels. I truly LOVE IT!!!
I am ready to add 22" chrome wheels, however the wheel people that I went to see said that I will notice a reduction in acceleration with the 22's.

Is this correct, is it that noticable? I am a performance freak and will just die if I cant get off the mark as quickly as I normally do. I can't sacrifice that.

Please, if you had 18" and changed to 22" what did you experience?

Please post as many replies as you can, I am sure there are many people that need to know this.

Also, what tire specs should go on 22's, some say 265/30/22 others say 265/35/22. Which is the right choice without change to the computer?

Thank you!!

·
Registered
419 Posts
I'm no mechanic but basically the bigger the tire the more the car has to "push" its self to make the wheel go round. Also I heard some one say that with the bigger rims your mileage meter thingy is also a little off i think?

·
'75 Power Wagon
4,530 Posts
it depends on what the actual diameter of your tires are.. not just bigger rims.. but say you have 18 rims with 20 tires.. its 20.. and then say you get 22s with 24 tires.. then your speedo will be off.

But i think the added weight of the rims may slow your car down a bit, i don't know how much or anyting though.

·
Banned
302 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks the75powerwagon for your post.
Does ANYONE know the weight of the stock rims+tires.
If I get 22's and keep weight close to the stock... and keep the o/d of the tires the same, surely I cant lose acceleration.... or am I just wrong with this theory?

·
Registered
10 Posts
The number of revs/mile is what determines how accurate the speedo will be with the new tires. Continental says that our tires are 734 revs/mile. The spec sheet on a tire you are considering will tell you the revs/mile for that tire.