DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this, so ease off the hazing...I've been post searching/reading until my eyes are bloodshot.
Anyway, palnning on lifting the Ram (98 1500 4wd QC) 3 inches.
I have the factory 3" block (cast with tab ears facing center of axle). When I get my lift with 2" blocks, these stack on the factory ones? Isn't it safer/better to just run one 5 inch block? Is this an option, or do you need to retain the factory Dodge block and stack?
Thanks.

·
Registered
2,040 Posts
rjsfun said:
I'm new to this, so ease off the hazing...I've been post searching/reading until my eyes are bloodshot.
I have the factory 3" block (cast with tab ears facing center of axle). When I get my lift with 2" blocks, these stack on the factory ones? Isn't it safer/better to just run one 5 inch block? Is this an option, or do you need to retain the factory Dodge block and stack?
Thanks.
All good questions. You'll get several different responses, but I'm going to start.

If you're planning on only lifting the truck 3" I don't see where stacking a 2" block on top of the factory 3" block is going to help. Seems to me and my amazing math skills that the arse end of the truck would be pointing at the moon.

I'd get the front portion of the lift installed, and see how the stance is with the factory block. If it's too nose high and looks like a bull dog, look into a small, thin, add-a-leaf. ProComp sells one for less than $50 and it's like a 1 1/2" AAL. Not something that's going to really over stiffen your ride (I'm running 'em).