DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am hoping someone else here has had the same issue I am having now. This past summer both my rear brakes began to lock up when applying the brakes at slow speed on pavement. After driving, both drums would get REAL hot, enough to burn your hand. I had the dealership look at them and the first thing they did was replace the drums. They said my shoes looked fine (they were only a year old). After they replaced them they worked really good for a couple days and then the passenger side began to act funny again. They told me that the adjuster cable may be bad on that side. I had both spring kits and adjuster with new cables put on two days ago and now it is back to locking up like that again. The drum doesnt get as hot as it did before, but, it is warm, while the drivers side is ice cold. I am not a mechanic and cannot see what is going on inside the drum, but, what it seems like to me is that something is holding my shoes out and causing them to make contact with the drum while I am driving and when I brake that causes the passenger side to lock up. The ABS is working because it does release and then grab. Anyone have any ideas as to what I need to do to get this thing figured out?

·
Todd O
933 Posts
Well there is a return spring to keep the shoes away from the drum when the brake is not applied. Those might be bad. If it hasn't been more than a year I would take them back there. I saw it happen before when a friend of mine put his brake shoes on backwards and totally destroyed his back brakes. It could be the adjuster that goes between the bottom of the shoes too. The only way to really diagnose what is going on would be to take the drum off. You can do that yourself, you don't have to be a mechanic to do that.

·
Todd O
933 Posts
Allen be careful I wouldn't drive it too much like that!

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #4