DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
racer21
376 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it bad to drive far if the engine is pinging. Mine did it a little today and freaked me out. It went away after a minute or so. Just want to make sure if it dose it again Im not hurting anything.

·
Registered
2,217 Posts
yes it could . if it happen when your just cruzing it could be bad thing . at the very least you would cook the cat cuz exhaust temp's will rise .air fuel ratio is to lean . PUT A 180 STAT IN and check your plenum pan for oil leak . HOPE THIS IS HELPFULL .:SPIN:

·
Registered
62 Posts
yes it could . if it happen when your just cruzing it could be bad thing . at the very least you would cook the cat cuz exhaust temp's will rise .air fuel ratio is to lean . PUT A 180 STAT IN and check your plenum pan for oil leak . HOPE THIS IS HELPFULL .:SPIN:

I did a 180 degree stat and a new Hughs plenum.....but I still get the occasional pinging.....any other things for a fix? or is something really bad going on?

·
Beware the Underbite!!!
6,659 Posts
up your octane, and try colder sparkplugs. i think im running the champion 4471 but i will have to look up when i get home.

·
Platinum 2K R/T
4,054 Posts
Check the plugs for fouling/excessive wear/correct gap...or replace them and make sure they're gaped correctly. Copper plugs such as Champion, NGK or various versions of Autolite. They don't have to be a cooler running plug, but they will help performance if you don't have to worry about driving in winter. You'll feel the difference with the 180F stat as well in winter.

·
Registered
2,217 Posts
I did a 180 degree stat and a new Hughs plenum.....but I still get the occasional pinging.....any other things for a fix? or is something really bad going on?
i agree with dodgefan360 u dont need a colder plug tell u find the cause of the ping . cold plug cold weather short trip's = fouled plug's