DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't want to start a bashing war but I was wondering what oil filter everyone uses, I see some Fram, K&N , bosch, and mobil.

I've used Wix, purealator,fram,napa just what ever I get when I'm at the store, I use Mobil1 synth and I change oil every 6K but change the filter at 3K.

So are some of the filters made by the same company and rebaged or I would assume KN, Wix and Fram make their own, but wasn't sure if anyone knew. I'm leaning to a Mobil1 and WIX combo for thats what I've been using for the past year.

plus what is the stock size oil filter and should I use a larger one, if so what are some?

·
Registered
183 Posts
I just changed my oil for the first time on my truck and used Mobil1 oil and filter with Lucas oil stabilizer.

On another note, is it difficult to change the filter w/o draining the oil first? I have never tried this before, but I would like too considering I don't want to change my Mobile 1 oil after only 3k miles but I realize that the filter may need to be changed.

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
robert_ayala all I do is grab the pan take off the filter, clean it up fill new filter with clean oil and tighten. Then I let it run and then check level, top it off and done.

SilsHemi it looks like WIX and AMSOIL are making the same filter?

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
well I made a list of somewhat maybe it will help, one other question all of the filters with the same numbers but different people(NAPA and WIX), so basically these are the same filters. Doing a side by side comparison of a $20 filter under a different name for less (EX NAPA and WIX) Napa is about a buck cheaper and I llike WIX.

Thanks for the larger size AMSOIL I'm going to check and see if I can use it.

L14670 JIFFY LUBE
GL14670 MICRO-GARD
SL14670 POWER FLO
L14670 PUROLATOR
PL14670 PUROLATOR
51085 WIX
51085MP WIX
51068 WIX