Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys, newbie here
I just bought my 2002 Dodge Ram Van (extended cabin) 3500 - 5.9 liter with 40k miles.
I got few questions/concerns and will start with the most pressing.

Braking - it pulls to the left when braking hard, I looked at both sides and noticed the Right disk would turn very hard when on jack-stands. Left side turns fine. Also notices right side disk is likely warped.
So I'm suspecting Right frozen caliper... but On the highway if I pump the brakes I get way better breaking. then when I come to a stop and let off the brakes the van will not roll. So I tap the gas and the vehicle rolls and I feel the breaks "un-freeze" and let the vehicle go. There's still some drag being felt though as I drive. Feels like no drag in the morning - but gets worse as i drive. But if the caliper was frozen I should get all or no breaking right?
Strange... any suggesting?

MPG - I'm doing less then 10mpg combined (I suspect the braking drag is not helping) - I noticed some good articles here with other suggestions on improving mpg so I'll try some of those.

BTW I want to change the air filter - is it true that I have to get to it via the center console?!

Lastly, I'll be doing the oil change, change the belt, and other minor adjustments.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
it kind of makes sense what you're saying - and I did read on the web that the lines corrode from the inside - I thought they meant the metal ones.
It makes sense to me to be the line because I do have breaking - and when I pump the breaks I get good breaking - just that they won't release easily, and even when they let go there's still a drag.
So makes sense to be the lines - assuming debris inside doesn't allow the brake fluid to flow back and forth easily, hence the stubbornness of the caliper.

What about the air filter - I have to go through the dog house to get to it?