DodgeTalk Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I recently but I don’t do 99 dodge ram 2500 Laramie 4 x 4 automatic and I just love it! I needed to step ladder to first get into it, but have since installed a step on each side, making things much easier! I am having a blast adding mods to my truck, and recently I decided to give the 4 x 4 a try, as I’ve never used it before! I read the manual and it was not clear at all, and my search online has Me do you believe I should be driving my truck in 2H just for every day use? When I bought my truck, I never needed to touch the 4 x 4 gear, and I am pretty damn sure that it is in neutral and that’s what I’ve been driving in? Not quite understanding yet, I tried to put it in 4L a while back when parked, And the grinding it made had me take it right back out of the gear immediately! Now when I did this, I pulled it back one notch, the gear it is always been in, And on the stick it says 4 low, neutral, 2 high, and 4 high From top to bottom. With the truck in drive I have pulled it down one notch (2H) and it drives fine, Although it doesn’t coast very well, and doesnt drive as nice as it does in neutral, Where it picks up speed easily, it’s fast, it drives like I would expect any other truck to drive! No, with the truck in 2H I have also tried to engage it in 4H, And it does run, and I can feel all four tires turning, but when I turn the steering wheel all the way to the left or the right it starts bumping n wobbling And just doesn’t feel right! I just wanted to give that information in case someone feels it may pertain to a problem I may be having, but my main question here is what is the difference between neutral and 2 high? If neutral is for flat towing, why does my truck drive the best in neutral And almost seems to resist speed in 2 high? If my truck runs the best in neutral should I not just keep it there? I’m really hoping someone can explain some of this to me in layman‘s terms