DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. Nothing specific to post except to introduce myself. I'm a weekend mechanic like many of you, and do pretty much all of my own work, except when things get too wierd in terms of harness and computer control issues; I'd rather use a wrench than trouble-shoot an electrical gremlin any day. My experience includes stuff like shocks/struts/springs, swaybars, rwd clutch replacments (done 3), brakes, removal & replacement of intake & exhause manifolds, rotating accessories, hoses, etc. Have pulled and reinstalled the motor in my 1989 240SX twice (long story).

Next up for my Durango is a new rear main seal, which I have been encouraged to do myself both by the excellent procedures in these forums and by the $765 quote I received from my local Dodge dealer. Today I bought the new seal and oil pan gasket for less than $70 (that's more like it). Anything else I'm gonna need to have on hand when I start (single-use nuts, gaskets, that sort of thing)?

Thanks!

·
Devil's Advocate
8,224 Posts
Welcome to DT

·
Registered
16,621 Posts
welcome to dodgetalk.:)

·
Registered
984 Posts
Anything else I'm gonna need to have on hand when I start (single-use nuts, gaskets, that sort of thing)?

Thanks!

Band-Aids and Beer. :D

Actually yes you'll need an oil filter. One of the tras brace bolts wont come out with the filter in the way and Im not a fan of taking one off and putting it back on in case some damage happens to the seal.

Might also get a trans dipstick seal since that will have to come out as well. Should look like a short rubber tapered edged tube about an inch tall or so if I remember right. Or are you going to have to pull the trans back to do this? I've never replaced a rear main seal still in the truck but Im guessing you'll have to pull the trans back, and remove the TC and Flexplate to get to it right?

·
Registered
2 Posts