DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
675 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, let me introduce myself. My name is J.T. and I am a Professional Mariner. As such I spend, literally, half of my life at sea. That's good news for a project. I can spend 4 weeks at sea dreaming and planning and ordering parts, then come home for 4 weeks and have all day every day to work on it.

As the title says, my new toy is a 1979 Lil Red Express that I picked up last time I was home. The body is in great shape with slight rust splotches in all the usual places, but the cab and floors are rust free.

Inside the cab is a different story. The dash has been ripped out (probably something to do with the top-left corner of the gauge cluster being a melted black blob) and the dash pad is broken and scorched. I found a junk yard gauge cluster and have it at the house waiting for my return. The wiring looks like someone went to town with a weedeater, so I will be ordering an all new 22-circuit wiring harness next week when I get home.

The goal for this time off is to make it legal and drivable again. I can drive it around the yard and in and out of the garage with a 1-gallon gas can under the hood, but I somehow doubt that will pass muster at the local inspection station. Not to mention having no gauges or a speedo.

I'm really excited about this build (I have always wanted a Lil Red Express). I will try to post pictures and details as I go, in the hope that my experience here can benefit someone else later.

·
Registered
5,193 Posts
Don't forget about the warlock trucks. Let's see some more pics! What options does it have? Bench or bucket seats? Can you tell if it had the optional tachometer/gauges in the sides on the dash? Any engine mods? The burnt amp gauges are a classic problem of all old mopars not just the trucks. "(probably something to do with the top-left corner of the gauge cluster being a melted black blob)"

·
Registered