DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Finally a 5 speed
2,419 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Overall I like my truck, but today I was kind of upset about it.

I am a technician at a place that installs Knapheide service bodies, flatbeds, and goosenecks mostly on GM 2500 and 3500 trucks. Today, I was putting a service body on a Dodge 1500 for the first time. I fabricated the hitch and welded it on and was about ready to mount the bed on it.

I jump in the truck, which was a 3.7L V6, and fired it up. Right away I noticed that it felt quite a bit smoother than my Hemi. Then, I gave it some gas to drive around to mount the bed and it felt like it had more power off idle than my truck. I know that Hemi's are lacking the the low end torque department, but the V6 felt more peppy I guess.

Is it our electronic throttle control crap that makes them feel so doggy down low? I dont know, its just like it doesn't have much throttle response. Keep in mind I know the Hemi will smoke a 3.7L, but I just liked the way the V6 felt from a stop. Im sure the 4.7L is the same way.

Anyway, I guess that was a pointless post, but have any of you ever noticed the same thing?

Joey

·
Registered
1,683 Posts
Get a tuner and it will really make it more peppy, well at least it feels like it is with the increased throttle response.

·
Private Assasin
1,198 Posts
Being that I am a 4.7 owner, that would explain why I have never been overly impressed with the hemi off the line. They are good engines, but it took minimal mods for my friend to make true hemi torque with his 4.7L..and it'll hang with them in the 1/8th (a stock one, anyway).

·
pykie back country
439 Posts
i myself was not impressed with the power the hemi made, but hey , thats what mods are for!

·
Registered
170 Posts