DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
'01 Ram. 360. What's the hottest thermostat I can put in this? I'm getting lukewarm "heat" right now, even after idling for 10-15 minutes and then running down the road for another 15 minutes. Granted, it's been below zero pretty constant for the last few days but my Jeep Cherokee is having no problems. Temp gauge reads approximately 1/4 on the gauge. 170 maybe. Will all I need is the stat and gasket?

·
work in progress
1,709 Posts
try putting cardboard in front of the radiator as a temp fix

·
Registered
265 Posts
maybe the heater core needs to be flushed out.I know mine needed flushed as it was plugged.I think it needs to be done again as it is not working as good as it was.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Today it's above zero and there is too much heat. There wasn't near enough this morning when it was -10. What gives? I got a 195 degree thermostat today and will put it in tomorrow.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I put in the 195 today and removed the old 195! Still no better. I bet it took a half hour for the upper radiator hose to get hot and even then the temp gauge never moved any higher than half way between 135 and 210. I know not to depend on the gauge. Anyone else have any ideas? It won't get warm here until April!

·
Registered
493 Posts
/points back up at the post about the cardboard.

if you cover up 1/2 of your radiator you reduce the effectiveness of your radiator to cool your coolant. With a temperature differential of about 190-200 degrees (temp of air blowing thru the radiator and the coolant), your radiator is way more effective in cooling the coolant BELOW normal operating temperature.

it the cardboard is too low tech for you, google up "radiator cover" or more specifically "winter front" for some sellers.