DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey yall. Im possibly thinking about trading in my '10 Challenger for a 2006 Ram slt quad cab. Its 2wd and has the 4.7 L. (Dont know if there are other options, as i am new to rams)

I traded my '02 Dakota in about 8 months ago for my Challenger and now i miss my truck. Kinda hard to throw my fishing and diving gear in the back of a challenger.

Anyways, Ive been looking at that 06 Ram that has 60k miles on it. I test drove it today and honestly i have no clue what i should be looking/listening for. I know on my dakota, before i bought it, it had bad upper and lower ball joints. But the dakotas were notorious for having horrible ball joints. Is there any common things that go bad in these trucks? Any buyers advice? Thanks guys.

·
BEE Ready!
1,274 Posts
I have not heard of anything for the 06 model as far as common issues. If I was you though, I'd stick it out for a HEMI. But thats comming from a guy that has only ever driven the HEMI and will never own a vehicle that doesn't have one :D

·
Premium Member
30,924 Posts
Welcome to DT!

The 4.7L is nice engine but if you can, I make sure it has the Hemi. As for the rest of the truck, you just need to make sure the maintenance has been followed. i.e. - the plugs, ATF+4 every 30K, filters, ect.

:dtrocks:

·
+ Hemi Addict +
580 Posts
where there's fish you usually find mud, 4WD!!!!

·
Registered
461 Posts
Make sure the heat and air come out of all the vents properly. Blend doors and motors in the dash go bad and its expensive to have fixed.
2006 models also seem to have issues with the tach not working properly. Mine reads 0 at idle and 600 cruising down the road, seems many other people on here have the same issue.
I also have a Hemi and say hold out for one- if you don't get one you will wish you have down the road.

·
Toothy Critters Rock!
7,238 Posts