DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive scoured this site pretty thoroughly and havent found a dedicated thread on how to install gears. One of they guys on here recommended randy ring and pinion book. Anyone know if theres a good guide out there somewhere?? This site...other sites?? Ive found plenty of parts lists adn think I have that pretty much worked out.

I believe im perfectly capable of doing it, from what I hear its not even that hard, just time consuming and you have to be precise on your measurments. Im a mechanical engineer so I dont think (hope) its beyone me but, obviously, experience wins.. and I dont know what tools I need.

·
Registered
493 Posts
things u might not have lying around:

socket for pinion nut
punch or side adjusters for the carrier
dial indicator
might need a micrometer/caliper for shims
ft/lb torque wrench capable of about **250 ft/lb** (air hammer for taking it off)
in/lb torque wrench (like 50 or 100 in/lb) dial type best. measures pinion preload.
plastigauge
shop press
axle bearing/seal pullers

there's a bar that goes across the carrier, used to measure pinion depth if u dont trust ur shimming on the pinion... but checking the gear pattern you can see if the gear footprint is fairly centered on the ring teeth

sure im forgetting some, anyone chime in

·
Registered
301 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Shop press! I dont have a press of any kind yet.. but I can take it on base and use the press there. Other than that I have everything except the micrometer and the bearing pullers... the most important tools looks like..

·
Registered
493 Posts
or do the outer pinion race yourself (hammer and race driver) then take the carrier and pinion to a shop and have them do the bearings for you

·
I WISH I WAS GREEN
3,273 Posts
Check out last months Diesel Power mag. They had a good write up and list of everything you should need.

·
Registered
543 Posts