DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

· Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Bought my hemi on May 28th of this year, had 17,000 miles. Haven't really had time to do anything but drive it to work and back (only had time to wax it once). Well, anyway, was racing my friend in his chevy home from work, and noticed that when i punch it if i'm going under 15 mph, if i hold the throttle all the way down, it doesn't shift until 6000 rpms. Is this normal for a hemi? 3.55 gears, quad cab 4x4. Are you supposed to let up and let it shift or something?

· All Around Great Guy
12,739 Posts
Mine shifts at around 5700 or so. It is normal and just keep the hammer down

· Hotty Toddy Gosh Almighty
5,372 Posts
At wide open throttle it should rev up like that. I think 6200 is the redline so you are fine, as it is going to shift before it hits the rev limiter.

· Registered
40 Posts
I am not sure about just flooring it. I have no experience and have only "taken off" from a stop 2 or 3 times, really havn't stretched her legs yet. When I do, I lightly let off the gas just depending on how the engine sounds. I think that helps the engine switch gears easier and probably puts it under less stress. I would think just all out flooring it would not be good for the engine. But hey, I am a noob when it comes to this, I was actually going to ask about it myself. Lets get some more input here.

· Registered
1,268 Posts
well if you want your engine to last 200,000 miles flooring it from every light wont help you in that department. Nor will it be healthy on your petrol bill. But engines these days are pretty durable with rev limiters and such.

· Registered
1,353 Posts
I would think WOT shifts would be harder on the tranny more then the engine, but that's just me.

· Registered
8,156 Posts
I think these hemis are high end motors as a stock motor goes. Mine revs about 6000 rpm's at shift also. Do as you please it's your truck. Have fun