DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wish I knew about this device 6 years ago. I just noticed it existed yesterday on ebay. I wonder how it works ?

·
Banned
8,865 Posts
what device??

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
electronic rust protector "device"

They sell them on ebay and they say it stop the rust from starting and stuff.

·
Banned
8,865 Posts
umm...... link???

·
Registered
201 Posts
Discussion Starter #5

·
Banned
8,865 Posts
I dont know. I am a mechanical engineer with alot of experience with electrical systems and somehow these products seem like snake oil. If this technology is so darned good, why is it being promoted primarily on ebay? If it is so effective, why has it not gotten major attention from the press? If it is soo good why are not our friends and neighbors raving about how well this works. Maybe it does work, but I am a bit suspicious until I see some credible reference.

·
Banned
8,865 Posts
I just did some more reading on the www.ruststoponline.com site and I will agree that sacrificial anode technology does work. This is the same concept used in most residential hot water heater tanks to keep the tank from rusting. However this technology requires a constant bath of water around the anode to direct electrical corrosion away from the surfaces needing protection. The website states the following