Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Uuuuuuugggghhhh,
Ok, today I almost rear ended a Mercedes. I mean it was inches!! This is like the 3rd time since getting it that i've just barely stayed out of a wreck. My 98 chevy astro blows the D away on braking so I know i'm not tailgating or anything... Just got this 2002 SRX 4x4 and absolutely love it but the BRAKES REALLY SUCKS. Is this normal? I've been a shadetree mechanic for 25 years and nothing looks out of the norm. Is there anything I can do mechanically? Seems like there is a ton of brake dust that builds up on the front rims as soon as I clean them. I pulled the rear wheels off to make sure the shoes were engaging and they were.

Any idea's guys???? Help!!!

·
WORLD'S GREATEST TRUCK
4,435 Posts
It's the abs kicking in, probably cause the rt/s' can't hold the road. It's happened to me twice what you describe, (WTF?) Search for 'disable abs' or similar. They're great wet and dry, it's loose stuff they can't take. I'm driving my boss' 2000 Ram van 5.2L to work now, brakes in the old vans are the best. You push it and the sucker stops.

·
Registered
503 Posts
I would try some better than stock pads. Raybestos Brute Stop come to mind. They are long lasting and really improved the braking in my Ram. Mopar pads suck. These will make a big difference.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No go on abs disable

Hey, thanks for the info. I ran right out and pulled the fuse on abs. Took it out for a test drive and it seemed like the brakes were not working at all. Then the brake light went on too, so I had to put the fuse back in.

:(

·
Banned
8,865 Posts
Durango brakes do suck. This is a often posted topic. The typical solution is new rotors and pads. The powerstop rotor and hawk pad combo seems to be the most popular solution. Do some searching and you will find tons of threads on this topic.

·
Keystoner
5,534 Posts