DodgeTalk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to Dodge and I am considering buying a 2008 Ram Power Wagon. I didn't want a diesel, but I want a truck that is not like everybody elses and can tow and still be fun to drive. I will be using the truck for around town light hauling, towing a 7000 lb travel trailer and just fun wheeling when I am boondocking. There are still some 2007 models around and the 2008s are just starting to show up at the dealers in Southern California. So far, it looks like the best deals are around invoice less the rebates of $4500. A few questions. First, is anybody towing with a Power Wagon and how is it working for you. What is a fair price, does being a limited production help or hurt resale? If you own one do you still like it? Any pros or cons would be helpful. And yes I know that with a 4.56 rear end the mileage is gonna suck.

thanks for any help.

·
Code Red
2,612 Posts
I was really hoping you'd find your way over here from "the other forum". This is the place to be if you own a PW. I answered you on the other site, but I'll c&p here for continuity sake.

The gas mileage can be ok or abysmal. I consistently get 14.5MPG overall per tank. That's 90% city driving. I'm one of the lucky ones. A number of other owners I know are looking at 11MPG. I typically get around 460 miles per tank of gas. I'm also a very conservative driver on a day to day basis. I'm not going to lie to your though. You really need to consider fuel economy in your decision. I know of two folks selling their PWs due to gas prices, and another thinking about it.