DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings! I'm much more handy with a computer than trucks. Here's what I've found:
My '03 5.7L 1500 4WD has lost cruise control. It stays on (based on indicator light). But when I press "SET" at desired speed, it either does nothing, or turns CC off completely.
I first thought it needed a replacement switch module (about $30 and easy install based on YouTube). I have not done this yet.
Further searching directed me to checking for error code. Using the ignition on-off-on-off-on technique, I got:
P0585
Speed Control Switch Correlation Error
Possible causes
- Faulty clock spring
- Clock spring harness is open or shorted
- Clock spring circuit poor electrical connection
Mopar site suggests clockspring is $120 part and related to driver air bag.

1) Should I order part and replace myself, or take it in? I'm not experienced, but a good student. :)
2) Will my air bag work? I can live without CC (mostly city driver), but want the airbag if needed!
3) Would this error code get flagged at annual inspection? (North Carolina)
4) Should I clear error code and see if CC then works? The problem was intermittent and progressively worse the last few months, now a total fail, so I suspect it is a real problem.

Love my truck. It's given me very little trouble. Only 102K miles and plan to keep it a couple more years. Especially when I look at the price of new ones!

·
Registered
743 Posts
Is the airbag light on? If so, it's probably a faulty clockspring.

For safety's sake I'd take it in (unless you really know what you are doing). You don't want the airbag blowing up in your face. Probably about $200 parts and labor.

Not sure about NC, but here in VA, a CEL or airbag light is an automatic fail during the state inspection.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3