DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello to everyone in dodge talk. i am new to performance upgrades on the dodge's. i have a 99 dodge dakota r/t. my performance up grades so far are. k&n intake,headers,tru-duals(magna-flow mufflers,no cats) 4:56 gears. i was about to purchase a 2800 converter and valve body to help with the trans. so what are the best bang for your buck upgrades?

· Registered
1,829 Posts
Crower 1.7 roller rockers really wake up a 5.9. I had those in my ole '01 5.9 and they were very impressive. Converters really help coming off the line and are a must to give you better 60' launches at the track. And of course a good pcm flash. I can write you a NICE pcm flash for that truck using SCT. I've got quite a few happy r/t owners out there.

· Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks hemifever. the rockers sound good. the setup i was looking at is a fastman converter,valve body,and throttle body. i want to do maybe a cam, ignition, rockers, intake, and a custom flash. the problem is which ones and what do i need for the setups?

· Registered
1,829 Posts
I had a Fastman 50mm tb for a bit and then I used an APS 52mm tb. Both were great. I like the KRC cams of course. Crower 1.7 rockers are really good and the M1 intake. With the M1 intake, you will lose a little bottom end but a good custom flash will bring that back to life. Mix that with the light weight of the Dakota and it's a fat combination.

· The Cherry Express
4,612 Posts
I don't like the RPM's I have to turn to do 70 on the freeway, & that's with the stock 3:92's I guess you dont do a lot of freeway driving?

· Registered
590 Posts
bryan99r/t said: