DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Sporting Clays Addict
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We were cruising down Hwy 19 in Middle Georgia today towing our clays cart and hit some hilly areas. There were a few hills that my truck downshifted on and hit about 4000-4200 RPMs until cresting, then would drop to 2700 and finally level off at around 2200. O/D was off and cruise was set around 65. Is this normal when towing in hilly areas?

Truck is an '02 Ram 1500 with a 4.7. Any comments appreciated.

·
Registered
10,359 Posts
you need a gear........I put in H.O cams which helped with the areas you mentioned in my 4.7 but I recently installed 4.56 gears so now I can pull a lot more hills a little easier than before!!!!! The little V-8 needs a little torque to help aid in towing and a gear change would help a ton!!!

·
Sporting Clays Addict
132 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok...I'm new to the whole truck think..I was an SUV'er before. :) Where would be a good place to purchase the 4.56 gears? Is this just a simple (per-se) replacement inside the differential or more involved?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,330 Posts