DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Has anyone installed an air/fuel ratio gauge in their hemi? Just wondering if the gauges actually work and what senders they use.

·
Tape On
829 Posts
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure those are used on carburated engines to help with the jetting.

·
Banned
3,902 Posts
I think Autometer makes one...

·
Registered
107 Posts
i'm in the process of putting one on, but not having very good luck. I'm gonna try to get the o2 sensors made from Auto Meter and try that some time this week. I also put trans temp in a dual a pillar pod, looks sweet.

·
11 seconds or BUST!!!
260 Posts
I have an Autometer A/F Gauge. It's not a wideband but it works for what I have right now.

You can't hook this gauge up witht he factory O2 sensors, they run a different voltage than what is required by Autometer. I got an early 90's Chevy Bosch 1 wire O2 sensor from Auto Zone, had a bung welded up next to the exhaust manifold and wired the gauge straight to that O2 sensor. It works great.

Hope this helps.
Later
CS

·
Lovin that CTD!!!!!
345 Posts
I installed one on my 4.7 about 8 months ago. I ordered a Autometer one and went to Autozone and got a universal one wire o2 sensor. Unless you live in the dead cold all year, you do not need to get a o2 sensor with a built in heater. Mine takes about 30sec to come up to temp. My bung is welded about 8in down in the head pipe on the drivers side manifold. About $25 for the sensor, $40 for the welding and about 20min install time.
Here is a pic of it in a Srt-10 pillar pod.

Now here it is in my triple guage pod...

·
Registered
1,566 Posts
You said bung.

·
Registered
1,566 Posts
I had to have one welded to a set of Hedman headers for my Camaro once.
I asked a friend to "weld my bung for me".
I got a wierd look at first and then it clicked in his brain and he smiled.
He took care of my bung for me.

·
Registered
54 Posts