DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. Newbie here. I have read through all 20 pages & have failed to find a thread listing the issues I am having although I'm sure someone out there must've gone through this.

2005 Grand caravan, 74'000 miles, 3.3 v6.

About 3000 miles ago, my anti-theft began acting up. Van starts, runs for 3 seconds, dies & anti-theft light flashes. After 2 or 3 tries, it will start & run fine. The problem seems to be happening more & more now. I have only one key for the van. My step-daughter had a similar problem on her chebbie monte carlo which required "re-setting" the anti-theft system.

I'm wondering if the same can be done in my case? I have read here that the anti-theft can be disabled entirely. This would be fine with me if it would solve the problem. Can it be done without a trip to the stealership?

Thanks.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hmmm. Maybe I am the first?:)

·
Registered
1,514 Posts
Sounds like a problem with the Sentry Key Remote Entry System (SKREES) or the Sentry Key Remote Entry Module (SKREEM).

The Sentry Key Remote Entry System (SKREES) uses a transponder chip that is integral to the circuit board of the integrated ignition key (SKREES and RKE incorporated) to communicate with the Sentry Key Remote Entry Module (SKREEM). Ignition keys are supplied with the vehicle when it is shipped from the factory.