DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
tbird2340
464 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been running two amps for about 6 months now. One for my door speakers and one for my sub.. Last night was the first night I noticed I didn't have any bass..

Today I popped the hood and checked the fuse to see if it was blown.. It was good.. I then went to the store.. Bothered that I didn't have any bass I decided to check it out when I pulled into the store parking lot..

When I got out and towards the back I started to smell electrical burning..

I started to freak and pulled the seat back to see my amp SMOKING!!! I hurried and pulled the fuses to the power lines and I was seriously thinking it was going to catch fire.. Luckily, it didn't..

Anyone have any idea as to how this could have happened? Also, why didn't a fuse blow or anything instead of letting it smoke and appear to catch fire?

Thanks!

·
I am your Father
2,365 Posts
It would be almost impossible to tell without being there, but I'll give it a shot...

Five questions about the wiring:

1. How many fuses were up front?
2. What size are the fuse(s) up front?
3. How many power cables are there?
4. How many fuses are there in the back at the amplifiers?
5. What size are the fuse(s) in the back?

·
Total loser.
584 Posts
Is this the Kicker amp you bought from me? What was smoking the inside of the amp, or the wiring?

Man, I feel bad I hope your not mad at me.

·
Registered
571 Posts
I had the same thing happen to my Hifonics amp about 2 months ago. No shorts anywhere, correct ohm load, and it never ran hot. One day it started arcing and smoked a bit out of nowhere after about 2 weeks of use. fuses never blew either.
Anyway i just got around to sending it back and a new one is on its way.

I have determined it was caused by one of 2 things:
1. defective amp
2. me using the wrong guage power/ground wires. i ran 8 guage and it recommends 4.