DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
679 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I went racin' for the first time last tuesday night. A friend of mine found this pic on the net...
small world:

Didn't do near as good as I hoped. 14.9 was my best for the night. I was a total newb. Didn't know how to stage properly at first, even showed up in shorts and had to go buy big boy breeches from a nearby truck stop. I had fun though.

·
Registered
75 Posts
I went racin' for the first time last tuesday night

grinner said:
I went racin' for the first time last tuesday night.
Those windows sure are dark...but I think I can see a big smile on your face. :evillaugh

G

·
Grinner,

Did you turn off the traction control when racing?

What were your 60-foot times and trap speed (mph)?

What altitude is your track (or the general area)?

One final question: Did your viper hood weigh about the same as your stock hood?

Thanks,
Magnum Force.

·
Registered
679 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
husker-
heck no. That Cobra was a 12 second car. Slowest car I raced all night. I wasn't racing cars though. I was racing the clock. Maybe if I'd a won, I'd say I raced a car. :)
magnumforce, my 60' speed on this run was 2.249 with a .532 reaction time.
Even runnin on forged 20s, I hoped to do better than 14.9 at 93.80 mph.
Headers and magnaflows are goin on next week so we'll see if I can't get it closer to 14.
I did run with ESP off although because I had to make that poitstop to buy pants and was frazzled, I ran the first two times with it on just cuz I forgot. Ran a 15.3 at 92mph with a reaction time of .511 with it on. Not a huge difference.
Since then I have gotten my reaction times way down. I'm in a drag racing seminar that lasts 6 months and already have it down to .016ish. Sure helps to actually know how to stage. Makes ya look like less of a tool too. ;)