DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I NEED HELP WITH TREAD DESIGN AND ALSO TIRE HEIGHT TO GO WELL WITH A CUMMINS TRUCK. i'm new to diesels, and i'm definitely new to this 03 quad 4x4, 2500,....i just bought it two days ago.

so, the tires are so-so and it gives me an opportunity to put what i want on there.

i should start by saying, i'm very utility. i bought it with a few nicks & scratches and i plan to use it. i'll keep it mostly stock, excepting a k&n air filter. i doubt i'll add much power with a chip unless it's only maybe 50 horses. i just don't like breakin' stuff.

anyways, it has 265/70-r17s on there now, and they measure about 31". they look puny in the wheel wells and the long box quad looks a little silly on them.

i like to run all terrains with a fairly aggressive tread design, though i use them on the street a lot.

but i'm thinking i could easily put a 35" tire on it without any clearance issues. is this any issue with torque for pulling serious loads? doesn't feel like it would be, so far. ......sorry, i don't know the gear ratio.

·
Power Wagon #1605
16,086 Posts
325/60 or a 325/65 would be a nice tire. Maybe a Nitto Terra Grappler

·
Anti-Pavement Pounders
237 Posts
I am running 295/70/17 on mine now. Fills the wheel wells nice and have no rubbing with leveling. They are about 33" when new. You may have problems (rubbing) with 35" unless you add a lift or a leveling kit, then it probably will be OK.

Should not have any towing problems with 35s, CTD has enough HP/tourqe to counter the bigger tires.

·
running on 6 cylinders
543 Posts
What ever tire it is make sure its an e tire or you will have weird wear and it wont handle as well with a load.
I know guys have been getting great tread wear on the pro comp xtreme ats like 50k

·
running on 6 cylinders
543 Posts
a 295 or 285 will be good on height and still give you good fuel milelage

·
Registered
76 Posts