DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just recently bought an '83 B250 conversion van and having a few problems with initially starting the van- once I've been driving during the day it'll start up one shot no problem.

It has a manual choke- the manual says the procedure is to pull the choke out all the way, prime it once and then hold the pedal down while cranking. I usually have to fiddle around priming, cranking and pumping while it's cranking a bunch of times to get it started.

There's gotta be an issue or something I'm not doing right here...otherwise it seems to run fine.

I have little experience with vehicles so any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

· Banned
3,118 Posts
A manual choke...how quaint! :)
You problem is probably the air gap adjustment for the choke butterfly. Meaning that your choke is not closed all the way when you pull the cable out. Remove the top of the air cleaner with the choke pulled and see if there is a gap between either edge of the butterfly and the air horn wall.

· '98 B2500 Ram Cargo Van
683 Posts
If the van is new to you, maybe try a few different techniques to see if it will start easier. I am very suprised that the manual suggests to hold the throttle down with the choke on while you crank it. Maybe cars & trucks are different, but I've owned lots of motorcycles with manual chokes (that's the norm for bikes) and I've always opened the choke and started them with the throttle all the way closed. They seem to start quick and easy using that method. Maybe try that and see if it makes a difference.

Pete

PS - WELCOME TO DT! ! :dtrocks:

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Van-nut- the manual said in colder weather to depress the pedal 1/2 or full- it's what I tried when it wasn't starting up first shot...the only thing that seemed to work (After a while)-but yeah, you're right, normally you just prime and go.