DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've replaced the tstat (twice), flushed the coolant, bled the air, replaced the radiator cap, replaced the fan clutch, hosed out the radiator and a/c condenser grills...what else can I do???

It only runs hot while driving in hot (85+) weather. The hotter the weather the hotter it runs, and using the a/c makes it overheat.

I'm thinking my next step is to remove the a/c condenser and really give it a good cleaning (i.e. hose it out backwards), or replace it all together. Is there anything I need to know about removing the a/c lines? Will I need to replace the refrigerant when I'm done? (I have zero experience with a/c systems)

Anything else I should try first?

(2000 Durango, 4x4, 4.7L, no mods)

·
Licalotapus
107 Posts
Why remove the condensor to clean it when your engine runs hot?

Does your return hose get real hot when the gauge says it's hot?

If after all that you're still hot, replace the radiator. Parts changing can get expensive.

·
Hummer Recovery Vehicle
6,250 Posts
have you tried replacing the water temp sending unit? how about checking your fuse/relay for your electric fan.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The electric a/c fan does work properly (I should have mentioned that in the first place). The engine also starts to boil over when the gauge needle maxes out, so that should indicate the sending unit is working properly as well.

The a/c condenser still has some debris stuck between the fins, so I'm thinking that just enough air flow is being restricted that it only overheats in hot weather. I think I can get it all out if I remove it and hose it out backwards. Removing the condenser would also allow me to inspect the front of the radiator since the condenser covers most of the radiator. I can then decide if either one needs to be replaced.