DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am planning a performance upgrade for my 75 Dart Sport with a 318 and I need some advice. I havnt done any engine mods yet, but I did have dual exhause installed. I am thinking of swapping the stock heads for the late 80's "302" heads, putting in a 340 cam, a 340 4 barrel manifold, with around a 600 cfm carb. I am also putting in headers. Now is there anything about this setup that would go wrong for some reason, or something that I dont know about. Also what sort of power boost would that give my car? I'm a daily driver and I don't want to lower my mpg too drastically, but the reason im planning this is for a power increase.

·
Avenged
408 Posts
Hi CaleFox,

Your plans sound good to make some good power. However you might want to look for a stock 318 4bbl intake manifold or an older Edelbrock Streetmaster 318 aluminum intake. For the most part the 318 heads have a smaller intake port than the 340 and 360 heads for most years. So the intake manifold will fit however it won't work properly if the ports are different sizes.
I am not sure about the "302" castings or the late 80's castings though or you can always match the ports on the heads to the intake too. Just something to look out for.

Hopefully someone can answer this a little better than I can. Good Luck with it.

·
Registered
3,695 Posts
Welcome to the board.

I would suggest more cubic inches such as a 340 or 360 if you are looking for better power. 318 is a great engine but switching to a bigger cam and heads will really hurt low RPM performance. Been there, done that!

·
Do It In A Van
8,045 Posts