DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
^BIG D^
2,283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I've been looking at the dealerships, and I have found one at a price I could actually afford. It's a 2001, 4.7L, 4X4, with 117,000 miles on it. The dealer's asking price is $8,700. I have not yet had the chance to look at it close or take a test drive.

I seen a thread a while back ago that was things to look for when buying a Durango, but I can't find it. Like how to get the codes (switching ignigion), ect. Things to look for. It's my first time buying a used vehicle from a dealer.

Thanks

·
Registered
4,953 Posts
Hey QT -

To get the codes, switch ignition on-off-on-off-on & watch odometer.

After checking the usual things (fluid levels & condition, leaks, working AC, etc), I'd get at least one front wheel off the ground & check ball joints. Also run the heater full blast for awhile (windows UP) & check for any windshield fogging or moisture on the passenger-side carpet, under the dash. If the heater core is questionable, RUN FOR YOUR LIFE!

·
^BIG D^
2,283 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Where do I find out what the codes are? Anything else I should look for in particular?

Do you think that this high of milege is worth considering?

·
Registered
4,953 Posts
If you're not comfortable evaluating the condition of the rig yourself, find a mechanic & pay $35-50 to get his opinion. The code list can be found on the threads.

PS: 117k is just about broken in (as long as it had a good PM schedule)

·
^BIG D^
2,283 Posts
Discussion Starter #5