DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
202 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Last year my wifes car developed a problem with the heater and it is starting again. The heater seems to only work when the engine RPM is ABOVE idle. IE.. If sitting at a stop light, the air coming out of the vents is cold, but as soon as you press on the gas, even just a few hundred RPM's the air starts coming out hot again. On one occation, the engine temp started to rise above normal temp and when she pressed on the gas it came back down. I purchased a new thermostat, but I have heard alot of issues about the "t-stat housing breaking" becuase it is plastic.. Any information would be helpfull.

·
Registered
15 Posts
I am no expert but if you don't get heat I can think of a few things that might be wrong

1 water pump. if you have a 2.7 these are notorious for going bad. The water pump pumps the water through the system that includes the heater core to get heat into the cabin. If it is not pumping water until higher RPM's then that could be the problem.

2. Blocked heater core not circulating water through the core until it's moving well and that could be the problem.

3. Bad thermostat it is not opening properly that could keep hot coolant from circulating through the system.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I have a similar problem on my 2001 2.7L. Sometimes it takes 10-15 minutes for the temp gauge to come up and the heater air is cold. Then the gauge jumps up to normal temp and the heater air is immediately warm.

·
Registered
5 Posts
in hopes that posting a message will bump this in some way where someone with more info may read it. my wifes 02 has the same problem. i dont drive it often so cant give every detail but have noticed it blows cold at stop lights sometimes and then heats right back up. i saw it run for about 10 minutes with gauge and heater blowing cold then gauge jumped up and heat blew warm. any more advice or info on this issue??

·