DodgeTalk Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am new to this forum as I purchased a 1981 dodge d150 custom a few weeks ago. First thing I did was to have the transmission professionaly rebuilt as it was obviously damaged. I changed the oil, the air filter. It has no power. On the highway, it cannot keep its speed when going up an incline. Not even a big one. It accelerates from 0 to 60 in the longest time. I did a couple sea foam treatment in the gas tank and also directly in the carb. Now it performs slightly better but still the power is not what it is supposed to be. I am breaking my head over this. I am not a mechanic but I am able to do some work. I have searched and read this forum a lot in hopes to find the issue. I understand a timing issue could explain my poor mileage and power, but I don't hear any pinging. As far as I'm concerned, the engine sounds nice. The only thing I can say about this truck is that the owner before me has put a one way valve on the line bringing fuel to the carburetor. Today I'm gonna change the fuel filter as it seems a little dirty. From there, I don't know. Anybody has had this problem too??

·
Registered
167 Posts
Fuel filter always a good call.

Could be a lot of things - but if the PO installed a check valve in the fuel path that sounds like a clue. Your mechanical fuel pump should act as a check valve anyway so I have no idea what the person was thinking.

What kind of carburetor do you have? If it's an old BBD or something it could just be somewhat cloggy. Especially if it has sit for a while.

Also never hurts to do the cheap basic tune up items to be safe. Plugs and wires + cap and rotor to make sure good spark is getting there.