DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everybody! I'm new to Dodge Talk and this is my first post. I just bought a 68 Dart GSS 440. Needs a restoration, but a solid Ca. car. Just wondering if anybody knows any history or has info on these cars? Been trying to research on the net, but not a lot there cause they are so rare. Anything would be appreciated. Thanks, Roger

P.S. My other Mopars are:
72 'Cuda 340 4spd
73 Duster modded slant 6
74 Duster 340 clone project in the works
95 Neon
97 Ram 4X4

·
Jeep Driver
32,497 Posts
GSS? As in the Mr. Norm's 440 Dart????

WOW, that really is a rare car! Got any pics for us????

I'll post some historical info on the car shortly, if I can find anything of interest.

·
Do It In A Van
8,045 Posts
GSS stands for Grand Spaulding Sport and was built by Norm Krauss (Mr. Norm) at his Grand Spaulding Dodge dealer....I think in Chicago or Detroit.

Chrysler said that a 440 wouldn't fit in an A-body Dart, but Mr. Norm said he could, so with Chrysler's blessing....he did it!!!

I suggest you get a hold of Galen Govier (the Mopar numbers guru) and have him run the VIN and the fender plate numbers to truly see what you have. I'm not sure how you could contact Mr. Norm...but he's still around. Heck I was sitting right next to the guy at the VIP luncheon in Carlisle last year.

Galen's website is: www.gvgovier.com

·
Jeep Driver
32,497 Posts
http://www.mrnorms.com/

That is Mr. Norm's website. Yes, he's still around and posting info there from what I can tell.

It has some historical background on his various projects over the years, including the 440 Dart GSS.

1968:

Mr. Norm developed the first 440 Dart GSS that became the prototype for the factory M Code 440 Dart GTS.

·
Registered
98 Posts
'68 440 Dart