DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 05 3500 cummins and it has started to rev real high and lose speed. Dealer has had it almost a month now. And now they are saying it might be bio diesel causing the problems. Any suggestions?

Thanks

·
voo doo 1 I am buggin out
6,355 Posts
Could be a speed sensor ...... my parents have a 99 Diesel and it would never shift out of first gear .. the dealership wanted to tear the tranny out so they took it to someone else and they found a code for a bad speed sensor .. replaced sensor on the rear axle and it was fixed for under $100

·
Registered
288 Posts
I have run my 05 truck on B20 biodiesel several times with no ill effects. I would like to know how they came to that conclusion.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I'm not a mechanic, but I dont see how a fuel problem would be causing your truck to rev higher and lose speed. Sounds more like a tranny problem. Maybe your torque isn't locking up or your bands are slipping.

·
Dodgezilla
5,719 Posts
Or the converter is toasted. It really sounds like a trans issue to me too....

·
Joe E
546 Posts
That was my though too. Tranny is or is about to roast. Had that happen in my old Dakota. I was going up a hill. I hit the gas to get moving faster and I heard a small pop. I gradually lost speed and my engine acted like it was in Neutral. Basically the link between the engine and tranny is gone. Engine spins free in N or D. But the truck goes no where. Good Luck to you. Sounds expensive.
Joe E.

·
Registered
3,058 Posts
Hunter11 said:
I have run my 05 truck on B20 biodiesel several times with no ill effects. I would like to know how they came to that conclusion.
Because if it's Biodiesel then it's not under warranty hence the dealership can charge a arm and leg for repairs :tdwn: Like others said, fuel can't be it, bad fuel could cause LESS power but not acting like the tranny won't shift.

·
Dodgezilla