DodgeTalk Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been a reader here for a while but never a poster.
I bought an 04 Durango about a year ago with 87,000 miles at the time.
It now has 107,00 roughly.It is a Hemi 5.7.
My wife was driving today and out of the blue started making a knocking noise so she pulled over.
After I had it towed to work it had a horrible engine knock.
I checked oil and it was at proper level as was coolant with no overheating.
After running it for a minute the noise went away but a bad misfire was present.
I checked the manifold pressure with a vacuum gage and found only 5 kg/cm instead of 20 atmospheric pressure.
Obviously internal engine damage like dropped valve maybe.
I am about to fork over $1800.00 for a used engine but am wondering if anyone has had this happen?
I am an auto mechanic for Honda and have maintained it to a tee.
My wife said no driveability problem or noises until this happened.
I guess I don't really have a question other than what the heck?
That and maybe if anyone else has had this happen.

AJ

·
SRT-8 Dakota
347 Posts
Have you checked for codes as to what cylinder is missfiring? Have you done a compression test on the cylinder?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply.
I have checked the code which is p0300.Random misfire.
As for compression I have not.I figure it is cheaper in the long run to buy a used low mileage engine rather than dig into this one to repair.I do know from the knocking noise and the lack of manifold pressure that something has come loose internally.

AJ

·
Registered
1,064 Posts
AJ:

If you so some googling, you will find that others have experienced this with the 5.7.
IIRC, mostly the 04 and a few 05 engines. One had less than 40k on it when it happened.

Just what you said. Dropped a valve when the valve spring disintegrated.