post #1 of 19 Old 03-11-2019, 04:43 PM Thread Starter
RLynnDay

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy P0340 p1391

P0340 P1391
Ok guys, I need some help. I'm an experienced amateur, being the daughter of a mechanic and having worked on my own and friends/family's vehicles for almost 30 years - but this darn Dodge has me befuddled.

Awhile back I had some problems with a crank/no start which ended up being the camshaft position sensor aka distributor pickup coil on my 01' Ram 1500, 6cyl, 3.9L engine.
At the time, I'd been through every possible repair, replaced both cam and crank sensors, all plugs, wires, cap & rotor, and finally resolved the problem.
Here it is about 18 months later, and I started having some surging and jerking, stalling and misfiring, mainly after the engine warmed up. I had p1391 code, so I could often let the truck cool down, clear the codes,
and drive to wherever I needed to go around town. (I'm in a small town, so leaving town to go elsewhere means 15 minute 18-20 mile highway trip I don't risk)

Ultimately this time around, I replaced the cam sensor, and drove it fine for half a day, including out of town, and it seemed better than it had ever been. Later that night I tried to go down the block and it started
it's surging and jerking and stalling and super long crank times again, but I got it back home. Then I replaced the crank sensor. Small temp improvements, but back to the same, and had to be towed home.
(I should specify that I've used O'Reilly parts, with lifetime warranties - so I didn't have to pay to replace them this time around - they were already under warranty, and O'Reilly is all we have here in town, so that's why I use their parts I know, not the best choice but...)