DodgeTalk Forum banner

Electrical draw (informational) - found an issue I have been chasing for 6 months

3K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  bsimkin 
#1 ·
For 6 months my van exhibited a very strange draw condition...
I tried many things to find it with no luck until one day one of the fuses blew...then I found the issue.
Here is some background. I dont drive the van very much in the winter, so it would just be outside waiting for spring. I would go out every few days and start it, run it and drive it if the roads were dry.
In the dead of winter, one cold day it didnt start, so I wrote it off as severe cold and maybe a crappy battery. I would charge the battery and it would start and hold its charge for days. Then when I got it going in the spring, I found that the battery would be totally dead a few days per month.
I tried to diagnois it a few times with different results each time.
Sometimes there ammeter would so .2 A of a draw...sometimes there was less than that and then sometimes there was more than that.
I couldn't find it. I should have thought about disconnecting the TV, Wii and TV tuner but I never did. I had put in other accessories too like a CB, sub amp and auxiliary fan so I tested those on occasion along with the fuse box and never found anything definitive.
In the midspring, I bought a new battery hoping it would fix it. It worked for a couple of months, but then the draw came back. I was perplexed and again, I should have been thinking about the other accessories. For a time during the summer, I was just putting my battery tender on it at night and that got me through.
Last week, I finally was given a clue. The TV fuse blew. What is strange is that it is a 15A fuse - quite hefty for a small 10in TV. So I started to disconnect the TV. That was a good pain in the ass. I had to take town the shelving system/TV mount, which is all wood, to get to TV supply line.