Simultaneous issues with wipers, brights, and turn signal - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
Notices

Closed Thread

post #1 of 6 Old 01-06-2017, 12:54 PM Thread Starter
Moose3145

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Simultaneous issues with wipers, brights, and turn signal

Hey guys,

Newbie here, and largely illiterate when it comes to automotive issues. I'm hopeful you can offer some insight and guidance.

I have a 2002 Dodge Ram 1500 4.7L. I love my truck, but I'm not sure that the it loves me back! I've had myriad issues with it over the past several months (had to get a rebuilt engine installed, new bearing, brake lines, etc.). Last week, the day I got it back from the shop following the bearing issue, I began having what appears to be an electrical issue. My wipers won't turn on, the headlights are stuck on dim (won't flip to brights), and the turn signals click in the cab but don't actually activate. All three of these functions are on the same lever.

At first I thought it may be a relay issue, as "Wiper High/Low" are on the same cluster in the fuse box (number 60, I believe). Bought a new relay, but it didn't fix the issue.

I researched it further and found that it may be the Front Control Module (if I remember right), which looks to be about a $300 part. Can anybody verify if they think that sounds right, or if it sounds like a different issue? The vehicle repair budget has long since been depleted, but at the same time I'd love to get the truck back on the road again, and hopefully back to 100% for the first time in a long time.

Thanks for your thoughts!

Moose
Quick Reply
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 01-08-2017, 10:40 AM
blk05hemi

Quoted: 43 Post(s)
I would take a look/change the multifunction switch first.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZEtRwt2BRw

2005 QC S/B Hemi Sport