Do-iT-YOURSELF RAM AIR SETUP - Page 2 - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 40 Old 11-25-2004, 09:27 AM
hotrod_06010
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bristol, Connecticut
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
this is why I went the K&N. The box isolates the filter away from the heat if the engine.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Picture 010.jpg (800.0 KB, 23 views)
hotrod_06010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 40 Old 11-25-2004, 05:32 PM
Dodge3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
to dijh3_88 and tazz411 what size tubing did u guys use and what to hold it down with i bought the ebay intake and put it on but it doesnt seem like its gona hold up to me thanks in advance
Dodge3 is offline  
post #23 of 40 Old 11-25-2004, 08:40 PM
procketus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: hickory nc
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
homebrew CAI

this is what i did with mine. just bent the stock tube around to radiator opening and extended it with a piece of aluminum. then covered the opening with a screen.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2004_1119intake0005.JPG (458.4 KB, 10 views)
procketus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 40 Old 11-25-2004, 09:55 PM
calltrex
Registered User
 
calltrex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I just thought of something

what about removing the stock filter inside so its empty

then convert the opening to a tube and put a round filter on the end of the tube.


any thoughts about this?

2003 Dodge 4 door 4x4, Auto
Edge computer with attitude, AFE Cold Air Intake
4" Exhaust System. 33" Terra Grapplers Es
AirDog 150 Fuel System, Industrial Injection 90hp injectors
ARP Studs, ATS manifold, SuperPhatshaft Turbo
calltrex is offline  
post #25 of 40 Old 11-25-2004, 11:26 PM
Dodge3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
caltrex thats what i was considering doing if im able to get the tubing around the stock air filter since i already have the cone, i also might even try what procketus did but not sure which yet
Dodge3 is offline  
post #26 of 40 Old 11-26-2004, 10:33 AM
bigredtank
Chicks dig bench seats.
 
bigredtank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Denver, PA
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Or go on Ebay and buy one for $50 and save the other $230 from the FIPK from K&N and get a 50mm Throttle Body. (52mm if you had a 5.9)

This is what mine looks like. serves the same purpose as most others out there.

I had an airaid TB spacer. It is worthless. I junked it when i got my intake and TB. Sold it on ebay to some sucker which will them sell it again once he figures out it is worthless.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg intake2.jpg (436.4 KB, 12 views)

Former Owner of a 2000 Ram 1500 4x4 5.9L Sport. Traded it in on a Honda Accord EX. Yes I'm a traitor, I know.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Gas Saver:
1992 Honda Nighthawk 750 (40+ mpg) w/exhaust mod
bigredtank is offline  
post #27 of 40 Old 11-26-2004, 03:28 PM
Tito Puente
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I like proketus's idea. that is pretty genious. very simple.
Tito Puente is offline  
post #28 of 40 Old 11-26-2004, 05:25 PM
procketus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: hickory nc
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
cai

genius, never been called that before!!! thank you. i've also thought about trying to get a cone filter to fit on the end, just haven't gotten around to check it out yet.
procketus is offline  
post #29 of 40 Old 11-26-2004, 07:39 PM
Plumcrazy
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have to think any gains from the ram air intake you guys have with the dryer duct is lost with all the corrugations in the ducting.......too much turbulence I think?
Plumcrazy is offline  
post #30 of 40 Old 11-27-2004, 12:51 AM
Tito Puente
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I don't think the corrugations are big enough to cause any signifigant loss. But that is an interesting point.
Tito Puente is offline  
post #31 of 40 Old 11-27-2004, 04:16 AM
Plumcrazy
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
as long as the corr. ducting is, it has to make a difference if ya ask me.
Plumcrazy is offline  
post #32 of 40 Old 11-27-2004, 07:04 AM
procketus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: hickory nc
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
cai

my thoughts on that are, yea, the corugations probably cause turbulence inside the tube. but, once it reaches the airbox and gets straghtened out again(more or less) it doesn't matter what happens in the tube. you will still have the volume of air in the tube and airbox.
also, i know on our race car, it is a good thing to have some turbulence in there. it helps atomize the air and fuel mixture together.
here is pic of where i put IAT OR AIT (whichever way it gets abbreviated). just popped a 1/2 inch hole in the TUBE with just enough clearance to miss the airbox.
FWIW, before i did all this the motor would ping like crazy unless i ran 92 octane in it. after i did this, also put a 180 t-stat in, i get next to no ping in it. and i have been running either 87 or 89 octane. coincidence, don,t know, but that rattle is gone and it makes me feel better.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2004_1119intake0003.JPG (438.4 KB, 8 views)
procketus is offline  
post #33 of 40 Old 12-28-2004, 02:03 PM
brettsfa
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Air intake

tazz_411 and djh3_88 !!! Im thinking about doing this to my 2001. I already have the drop in k&n. Do you recommend what you did, and did you gain any mpg??? Im hoping for a mpg gain.

Thanks

Brett
brettsfa is offline  
post #34 of 40 Old 12-28-2004, 02:06 PM
brettsfa
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ebay intake kit

what company did you get your ebay kit from. I have a 2001 5.2l and was wondering if you gained any mpg?

Thanks
brettsfa is offline  
post #35 of 40 Old 01-04-2005, 10:12 AM
DODGEIT
Registered User
 
DODGEIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sarasota Fl.
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Question for Big Red Tank. How did you start the bolt to hold down the air box? Mine is not a straight bolt but has to bends in it with a Knurled knob on the one end. I can't get mine to line up with the screw hole on the TB. The rubber molding on the cowling edge and the wiring harness behind it are in the way. I can remove the moulding out of the way but the wiring harness is in the way still. Did you have to use a different bolt or modify that one?

2012 Dodge Ram 1500 Big Horn QC 4x4
DODGEIT is offline  
post #36 of 40 Old 01-04-2005, 10:21 AM
bigredtank
Chicks dig bench seats.
 
bigredtank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Denver, PA
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hmmm. no the S bolt they gave me worked. WELL kinda. It seemed short so i had to keep it a little loose and line it up with the airhat. Your bolt looks like this one right?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg bolt.JPG (1.6 KB, 135 views)

Former Owner of a 2000 Ram 1500 4x4 5.9L Sport. Traded it in on a Honda Accord EX. Yes I'm a traitor, I know.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Gas Saver:
1992 Honda Nighthawk 750 (40+ mpg) w/exhaust mod
bigredtank is offline  
post #37 of 40 Old 01-04-2005, 12:15 PM
DODGEIT
Registered User
 
DODGEIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sarasota Fl.
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
I shortend the end where the knurled knob goes by cutting off about a 1/8 of an inch of the threads. I was able to thread it in with the air hat off but i had to rely pull up on the wiring harness to get it started unti enough of it was screwed down in the TB. But then I can't get the airhat over the bolt as their is not enough room to put it on there. So I took it back out and put the stock air cleaner unit back on until I can figure out what to do next. Any suggestions would be helpful.

2012 Dodge Ram 1500 Big Horn QC 4x4
DODGEIT is offline  
post #38 of 40 Old 01-04-2005, 03:11 PM
Dodge3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i kind of had that same problem with the intake so i had to cut it about two times, then once i screwed that "s" screw in and positioned the air hat so itd fit i stuck my hand inside of where the tube goes in and turned the screw until the hat fit there wasnt enogh space how u mentioned so i put some more bolts in between seems to be holding up pretty good hope this helps it was gave me a hard time but it was worth it turned up being a pretty good kit
Dodge3 is offline  
post #39 of 40 Old 01-05-2005, 06:41 AM
cmbtscout
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I was thinking about this, when you changed the routing of the air from stock to the modified ram system that you guys are putting on did you have to change the possition of the air sensor?? like mentioned above from procketus is this a nessasary change that you all had to make too?
cmbtscout is offline  
post #40 of 40 Old 01-05-2005, 03:50 PM
procketus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: hickory nc
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
moving the air sensor is not necessary. i am not sure how it works in relation to the computer, but i know it reads a cooler air intake so, the colder the air the better performance. in my case it seems to have worked. there are others on here that know more about it than i do, maybe they will jump in and explain it better.
procketus is offline  
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to use most of our features, you must first register.
Please enter your desired User Name, your Email Address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
The registration process requires you to activate your membership by following a link in an E-Mail that will be sent to you immediately upon completing this form. You must enter a valid email address or you will not receive this activation code and you will NOT be registered. Your E-Mail address is NOT publicly available to anyone as policy.

AOL E-MAIL USERS: Please click HERE for important info pertaining to your e-mail address.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome