DodgeTalk Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

Beating a dead horse? Maybe...but...

621 views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  sherdep 
#1 ·
It seems to me, from a combination of what I've read here and my own additional research, that the stock HEMI engine is not as mod-friendly as some might think. Not that there aren't a ton of mods readily available, but rather the apparent fact that most of them might do more harm than good without the proper computer tuning?

I have a brand new, completely stock '05 1500 QC with the HEMI (only 1100 miles so far), and the more I read about these "horror stories" about engines blowing up with only simple bolt-on intake and exhaust mods, the more nervous I get about changing ANYTHING.

I am not a mechanic, engineer, or anything of the like when it comes to engines, but I am somewhat technically inclined with electronics and electro-mechanics in my line of work. So, my questions are directed to some of the more savvy engine gurus out there (Dodge3471 and others who might have relevant experience).

Now, the point of all this clamoring about - In your opinion and experience, would adding a cold air intake and perhaps aftermarket exhaust seriously affect the long term life and longevity of an otherwise untouched HEMI? A final bit of food for thought is my driving habits, which tend to be somewhat agressive but not anything unresonable. I might open it up to WOT a few times a week and don't currently tow anything heavy either.

Thanks for reading this far :help: , looking forward to your responses.

Jeff

See less See more
#2 ·
My_First_Dodge said:
In your opinion and experience, would adding a cold air intake and perhaps aftermarket exhaust seriously affect the long term life and longevity of an otherwise untouched HEMI? Jeff