920 -921-999 error codes?????? - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 07-14-2005, 01:57 AM
sharphome
Registered User
 
sharphome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wathena, KS
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
920 -921-999 error codes??????

Does anybody know what error code 920, code 921 means on my Dodge Ram(99). It will just quit running and I get these messages in the odometer window. It will sit and cool down awhile then start back up until it gets hot again. Any help friends?
sharphome is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 07-14-2005, 06:47 AM
RAM MAN
Originating Member
 
RAM MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Haslett
Posts: 35,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
hmm

sorry, I had a code list, but dont see those on there

anyone else ?

Quote:
Good luck on your project.
RAM MAN is offline  
#3 Old 07-15-2005, 06:38 PM
crazys182003
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
P0920 Gear Shift Forward Actuator Circuit/Open
P0921 Gear Shift Forward Actuator Circuit Range/Performance
Not sure if that is exactly what you are looking for but found them at
http://www.obdii.com/codes.asp
crazys182003 is offline  
#4 Old 07-16-2005, 08:32 AM
RAM MAN
Originating Member
 
RAM MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Haslett
Posts: 35,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
nice link


thanks

I'll add it to my "favorites"

Quote:
Good luck on your project.
RAM MAN is offline  
#5 Old 07-16-2005, 09:03 AM
Tech_John
Registered User
 
Tech_John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
It looks like the Self Diagnostic Codes from the cluster
Here is a list for a 99 Ram
INSTRUMENT CLUSTER FAILURE MESSAGES
Message Description Correction





110 A failure has been identified in the cluster CPU, RAM, or EEPROM.
1. Replace the faulty cluster.




900 The CCD data bus is not operational.



1. Check the CCD data bus connections at the cluster. 2. Check the cluster fuses.
3. Check the CCD data bus bias.
4. Check the CCD data bus voltage.
5. Check the CCD data bus terminations.

920 The cluster is not receiving a vehicle speed message from the PCM.
1. Check the PCM software level and reflash if required.

2. Use a DRB scan tool to verify that the vehicle speed message is being sent by the PCM.

921 The cluster is not receiving a distance pulse message from the PCM.
1. Check the PCM software level and reflash if required.

2. Use a DRB scan tool to verify that the distance pulse message is being sent by the PCM.

940 The cluster is not receiving an airbag lamp-on message from the ACM.
1. Check the CCD data bus connections at the ACM.

2. Check the ACM fuse.

950 The cluster is not receiving an ABS lamp-on message from the CAB.
1. Check the CCD data bus connections at the CAB.

2. Check the CAB fuse.

999 An error has been discovered.
1. Record the failure message.

2. Depress the trip odometer reset button to continue the Self-Diagnostic Test.


2002 Ram 1500 Sport 4x4
4/5.5" SuperLift Suspension Lift
BFG 35x12.5x18 Mud Terrain T/A's
18" Weld Racing Mountain Crushers
AVIC-N1 Pioneer deck w/XM & voice command
many, many other mods

Last edited by Tech_John; 07-16-2005 at 09:33 AM.
Tech_John is offline  
#6 Old 07-21-2005, 10:40 PM
sharphome
Registered User
 
sharphome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wathena, KS
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Well problem ended up being the gosh darn computer......Tempature problem with it. The No BuS message was telling me the computer shut down and would not even get a signal from it. Had a shop hook it up and make sure.......Now I get to buy a new PCM.
sharphome is offline  
#7 Old 07-22-2005, 06:34 AM
RAM MAN
Originating Member
 
RAM MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Haslett
Posts: 35,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
well glad you got that figured out, and thanks for posting the outcome, it may help someone else with this same problem some time

Quote:
Good luck on your project.
RAM MAN is offline  
#8 Old 07-22-2005, 06:58 AM
RAM MAN
Originating Member
 
RAM MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Haslett
Posts: 35,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I bought a performance one from http://www.garyhardy.com/en_US/

and it was the cheapest I could find, either locally OR on the internet ...

Quote:
Good luck on your project.
RAM MAN is offline  
#9 Old 07-23-2005, 12:54 AM
sharphome
Registered User
 
sharphome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wathena, KS
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Was the performance PCM already programmed or did you have to have it programmed? I am getting told that the dealer is the only place I can get a new one that is programmed right.
sharphome is offline  
#10 Old 07-23-2005, 07:31 AM
RAM MAN
Originating Member
 
RAM MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Haslett
Posts: 35,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Most places you can buy from now are able to go ahead and put your VIN number in the computer, so all you have to do is unplug your old one, and plug in the new one ....

Quote:
Good luck on your project.
RAM MAN is offline  
#11 Old 07-23-2005, 12:51 PM
sharphome
Registered User
 
sharphome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wathena, KS
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for the Gary Hardy website info. They are only about a hour drive away from me here in Kansas. Appreciate your help. I alos found one at Autozone for 296.00 think they are any good?

Rick

99' Dodge Ram QC Sport 4x4


http://sharptruck.tripod.com/my_dodge_album
sharphome is offline  
#12 Old 07-23-2005, 07:37 PM
RAM MAN
Originating Member
 
RAM MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Haslett
Posts: 35,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
should be fine

Quote:
Good luck on your project.
RAM MAN is offline  
#13 Old 07-28-2005, 01:20 PM
sharphome
Registered User
 
sharphome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wathena, KS
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Got my new computer from Autozone. Took the 3 bolts out unplugged it, plugged in the new one and bolted it up.... Started up and runs like a champ again. Sure saved me alot of money by not taking it to a dealer. AND IT WAS EVEN EASY TO DO...LOL. Thanks for all the help and input.
YEEEHAWWW my truck will finally run for more than 20 minutes at a time again.
I also put a set of new premium champion plugs in after 62000 miles. the old ones were a little burnt off. It idles alot smoother now.

Rick

99' Dodge Ram QC Sport 4x4


http://sharptruck.tripod.com/my_dodge_album
sharphome is offline  
#14 Old 07-28-2005, 08:13 PM
RAM MAN
Originating Member
 
RAM MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Haslett
Posts: 35,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
did they put your VIN number in for you ?

Quote:
Good luck on your project.
RAM MAN is offline  
#15 Old 07-28-2005, 11:06 PM
sharphome
Registered User
 
sharphome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wathena, KS
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
No, I guess it didn't need to be done. They said it was all ready to go. It runs fine without that being done...... I guess..LOL>>??? Should it be done? I really don't know much about PCM's.

Rick

99' Dodge Ram QC Sport 4x4


http://sharptruck.tripod.com/my_dodge_album
sharphome is offline  
#16 Old 07-29-2005, 09:18 AM
RAM MAN
Originating Member
 
RAM MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Haslett
Posts: 35,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
you bought a MOPAR Performance one ?

Quote:
Good luck on your project.
RAM MAN is offline  
#17 Old 07-29-2005, 04:48 PM
sharphome
Registered User
 
sharphome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wathena, KS
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
No actually it is a remanufactured PCM.

Rick

99' Dodge Ram QC Sport 4x4


http://sharptruck.tripod.com/my_dodge_album
sharphome is offline  
#18 Old 07-30-2005, 11:21 AM
sharphome
Registered User
 
sharphome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Wathena, KS
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Do you think it needs the vin flashed in it Ram Man? I think someone told me O'Reileys can reflash a PCM now.

Rick

99' Dodge Ram QC Sport 4x4


http://sharptruck.tripod.com/my_dodge_album
sharphome is offline  
#19 Old 07-30-2005, 11:37 AM
RAM MAN
Originating Member
 
RAM MAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Haslett
Posts: 35,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm confused, but I guess if its running OK and you have no codes, let her rip !!

Quote:
Good luck on your project.
RAM MAN is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Closed Thread

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to use most of our features, you must first register.
Please enter your desired User Name, your Email Address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
The registration process requires you to activate your membership by following a link in an E-Mail that will be sent to you immediately upon completing this form. You must enter a valid email address or you will not receive this activation code and you will NOT be registered. Your E-Mail address is NOT publicly available to anyone as policy.

AOL E-MAIL USERS: Please click HERE for important info pertaining to your e-mail address.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome