CANBUS Speeds? - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 HOME  FORUMS  GALLERY  GARAGE  TECH  CLASSIFIEDS  LINKS  MEMBER MAP  ARCHIVE  SPONSORS
INFO SITE HELP ARCADE TELL-A-FRIEND STAFF CONTACT US AUTO LOANS


DodgeTalk.com is the premier Dodge forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
Go Back   DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums > Dodge Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Dodge Ram Truck 4th Gen (09 – Up) Forums > 4G Dodge RAM - General Talk

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools

SRT2Sport
 
  CANBUS Speeds? - Posted: 12-08-2012, 01:19 AM
SRT2Sport's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 227
City: JBER, AK
State: AK
Status: Offline
Post #1

I tried searching but came up empty handed. I hope this is the appropriate area for this Post too. In the past I remember seeing a list of vehicles and their associated CANBUS Speeds. Does anyone have that info? I am wondering if the 430/RBZ Unit out of my Wifes 2013 Grand Cherokee will work in my 2012 Ram with 130S/RES. I apologize if I am posting in the wrong section or if I missed a Thread somewhere. Thanks!
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 

1500ram12
 
 Posted: 12-08-2012, 03:52 AM
1500ram12's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Jul 2012
Posts: 429
City: Potsdam NY
State: NY
Status: Online
Post #2

I don't think so. Unless jeep switched to a high speed canbus for 2013.

Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk
__________________
2010 Ram 2500 SLT 6.7L Cummins, S&B CAI, H&S Mini Maxx, BullyDog A pillar mount, Flo Pro 4" Down Pipe/delete pipe, Raceland 4" E cutout, RCX Leveling Springs, 1.5" TGC Blocks, Bilstein 5100's, RCX Big Bore SS
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

lvrr
 
 Posted: 12-08-2012, 04:22 PM
lvrr's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 297
State: CA
Status: Offline
Post #3

I was under the impression that all Chrysler vehicles switched to the high speed can bus in 2009, 2010 at the latest.

The main problem you may encounter is that the radio's are now associated with the vin number of the vehicle, so switching the RBZ radio from 2013 to 2012 model year or another vehicle may not work.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

SRT2Sport
 
 Posted: 12-10-2012, 12:24 AM
SRT2Sport's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 227
City: JBER, AK
State: AK
Status: Offline
Post #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1500ram12 View Post
I don't think so. Unless jeep switched to a high speed canbus for 2013.

Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX using Tapatalk
Hmmm. I was afraid of that. I have read conflicting Posts about Post 2011 Jeeps being High Speed though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lvrr View Post
I was under the impression that all Chrysler vehicles switched to the high speed can bus in 2009, 2010 at the latest.

The main problem you may encounter is that the radio's are now associated with the vin number of the vehicle, so switching the RBZ radio from 2013 to 2012 model year or another vehicle may not work.
I understand that it may not be plug and play. I wouldnt mind if the Dealership had to unlock it. The VIN being programmed doesnt deem the radio useless in another vehicle, does it?
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

lvrr
 
 Posted: 12-10-2012, 05:23 PM
lvrr's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 297
State: CA
Status: Offline
Post #5

You do pose an interesting question.

As i said, I thought Chrysler went all high speed can bus. Now I find Jeep still using low speed into 2012. I will venture a guess that the 2013 is still a low speed can bus.

Check your Jeep owners manual it is possible it may list can bus speed somewhere under the radios. You may also check with your dealers parts dept, they may be able to find out for you.

If it is low speed it will not work in the Ram.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

SRT2Sport
 
 Posted: 12-10-2012, 09:39 PM
SRT2Sport's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 227
City: JBER, AK
State: AK
Status: Offline
Post #6

Thanks for the info. Heres to hoping that I can find a parts guy who actually knows what he is doing and is willing to help me out.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote

SRT2Sport
 
 Posted: 12-12-2012, 11:29 PM
SRT2Sport's Avatar
Registered User
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 227
City: JBER, AK
State: AK
Status: Offline
Post #7

I have found that the 2011+ Grand Cherokee does indeed use a high speed bus much like the Ram. It does appear that the Grand Cherokee and Ram use different part numbers for the RBZ Radio though. I guess the only way to know for sure is to try the swap.
View Public ProfileSend a private message to %1$sSend email to %1$sFind all posts by %1$sAdd %1$s to Your Buddy List Reply Reply With Quote
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
canbus LED / SMD lights Daytona1445 3G Dodge RAM - Interior/Exterior Talk 3 11-08-2011 07:01 PM
Canbus and radio harness Crafty One For Sale - Truck Parts 6 06-30-2011 08:16 PM
F/S - 04+ CANBUS adapter and DUAL DD HU weedahoe For Sale - Truck Parts 4 07-31-2009 01:51 PM
Help with CANBUS SWINGRRRR Mobile Audio & Electronics Talk 7 06-24-2007 06:42 PM
CANBus Question bellis Mobile Audio & Electronics Talk 6 04-05-2007 11:00 AM



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.





Privacy Statement