2002 Ram hard to steer - NEED HELP - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums
 HOME  FORUMS  GALLERY  GARAGE  TECH  CLASSIFIEDS  LINKS  MEMBER MAP  ARCHIVE  SPONSORS
INFO SITE HELP ARCADE TELL-A-FRIEND STAFF CONTACT US AUTO LOANS

DodgeTalk.com is the premier Dodge forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.Please Register - It's Free!
Go Back   DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums > Dodge Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Dodge Ram Truck 3rd Gen (02 – 08) Forums > 3G Dodge RAM - General Talk

Closed Thread

Ronnie Hale

2002 Ram hard to steer - NEED HELP - Posted: 07-04-2012, 08:28 AM
State: OTHER
Post #1

Newbie here. I have a 2002 Ram 1500 QC with a 5.9L. Automatic.2WD. Stock tires. No mods. 99,000 original miles. My front end needs some work, i.e. the ball joints and bushings need to be replaced. The truck was running fine and still runs fine. I put some new tires on about a month or so ago and it started pulling to the left pretty hard. I've been driving it like that and waiting for a break from work to get in and replace all the front end components and get an alignment. Yesterday on the way home I slowed down to make a right turn and the steering wheel felt like it had a hitch in it and wouldn't spin freely. I grabbed the wheel and completed the turn without too much effort. The very next right turn (less than 50 feet), it did the same thing. I was only traveling a few miles an hour and turning in a residential neighborhood. Once home, I made several turns and backed it in the drive to take a look. When idling and not rolling, the wheel is hard to turn in either direction. If I jack up the truck and put on jack stands, the wheels turn fine with no noise or issues. The PS fluid is full and there appears to be no leaks ( I say no leaks but my boots on the steering rack are "damp" like maybe the seals are at the very beginning stages