2002 Ram hard to steer - NEED HELP - DodgeTalk : Dodge Car Forums, Dodge Truck Forums and Ram Forums

#1 Old 07-04-2012, 09:28 AM
Ronnie Hale

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
2002 Ram hard to steer - NEED HELP

Newbie here. I have a 2002 Ram 1500 QC with a 5.9L. Automatic.2WD. Stock tires. No mods. 99,000 original miles. My front end needs some work, i.e. the ball joints and bushings need to be replaced. The truck was running fine and still runs fine. I put some new tires on about a month or so ago and it started pulling to the left pretty hard. I've been driving it like that and waiting for a break from work to get in and replace all the front end components and get an alignment. Yesterday on the way home I slowed down to make a right turn and the steering wheel felt like it had a hitch in it and wouldn't spin freely. I grabbed the wheel and completed the turn without too much effort. The very next right turn (less than 50 feet), it did the same thing. I was only traveling a few miles an hour and turning in a residential neighborhood. Once home, I made several turns and backed it in the drive to take a look. When idling and not rolling, the wheel is hard to turn in either direction. If I jack up the truck and put on jack stands, the wheels turn fine with no noise or issues. The PS fluid is full and there appears to be no leaks ( I say no leaks but my boots on the steering rack are "damp" like maybe the seals are at the very beginning stages of going out on my rack and pinion. The wet area is not really even wet and zero fluid is dripping out anywhere). I checked all the hoses and lines and there are no leaks or crimped lines and I have not had to add any PS fluid. Guys at my local shop here say my steering rack is shot and to replace it. Does this sound right? I have no problem replacing it, I'm just concerned I would spend the 200 bucks on the rack and then the real culprit would be that my ball joints are so worn, they'